Robert Elsie | AL Art | AL History | AL Language | AL Literature | AL Photography | Contact |

 

Robert Elsie

Textes et documents d’histoire albanaise

   
BACK  |  AL History
Montagnard de Shala (Photo: Marubbi, ca. 1858-1890).



Montagnard de Shala
(Photo: Marubbi,
ca. 1858-1890).
Webdesign J. Groß

1841
Nicolay, Prince des Wassoevitch:
Notice abrégée sur les tribus de la
Haute Albanie et notamment sur les Montagnes indépendantes

Entre la Mer Adriatique, les Bouches de Cattaro, la Bolgarie et l'ancienne Serbie, entre l'Herzégovine, le lac d'Ocrida, Albassan et Durazzo, est situé l'ancienne Holmia (Montagnes) qui aujourd'hui forme la totalité de la Haute Albanie, une partie de l'Herzégovine, de la Bosnie et de l'ancienne Serbie.

Elle a à peu près 51,3 lieues de longueur et à peu près 30,8 lieues de largeur, ce qui fait une étendue de 1580 lieues carrées. Il y a environ 320,000 âmes, dont 74,000 combattants et 5400 de cavalerie.

Ce pays est couvert de montagnes et de rochers escarpés, de défilés et de positions tellement inaccessibles que depuis les temps les plus reculés jusqu'à nos jours, aucune force armée n'a pu encore les franchir.

Je n'entrerai point dans les détails topographiques du pays, c'est un sujet trop long et qui demande à être traité avec beaucoup de soin et d'une manière toute spéciale. Je dirai seulement qu'il est très difficile, sinon impossible, de se faire une idée juste de la nature du pays et du terrible aspect de ses montagnes! A chaque pas est un fort et chaque pierre est un rempart que la nature a élevés pour arrêter les hommes! En un mot, l'Albanie supérieure présente une vraie forteresse naturelle que jusqu'à présent nulle puissance n'a encore conquise ou subjuguée.

L'histoire dit que les Romains et même les Turcs ont été maîtres de ce pays, il est vrai, mais c'est par le moyen de stipulations qui secondaient les vues et satisfaisaient aux besoins de ces tribus et non par la force des armes.

L'ancienne Homia prend son nom d'une grande montagne appelée Holm située dans les tribus des Wassoevitchs supérieurs contre les Turcs de Colachyns.

L'Holmia est aujourd'hui divisée en deux parties. La première sont les montagnes indépendantes qui comprennent le Monténegro et les Berda (Holmia ancienne). La seconde sont les montagnes dépendantes de la Porte relativement à leurs pâturages et à leurs marchés, mais qui ne payent rien aux Turcs et se gouvernent par eux-mêmes.

Les peuples qui habitent aujourd'hui ce pays sont de deux races différentes: les tribus albanaises et slaves. Les tribus albanaises ou Skyptars sont la postérité d'Illir, fils de Cadmus, Roi de Fénice, qui à l'arrivée des Israélites ayant quitté son pays, vint avec son fils et son peuple occuper les bords de la Mer Adriatique depuis la Grèce jusqu'au Lac Labéotique (Lac de Scutari), position qu'ils ont conservée jusqu'à présent sans avoir, en rien, changé leur costume et leurs moeurs. Leur langue est également restée jusqu'à nos jours telle qu'elle était il y a trente trois siècles. Cette langue n'a pas la moindre ressemblance avec aucune de celles du Nord, excepté les mots techniques et les noms propres de position, empruntée à leurs maîtres.

Tous les Albanais sont de la religion catholique romaine, mais par un mépris qu'ils ont pour le Pape et la langue latine, ils ont peu de considération pour le clergé et sont peu dévoués à leur religion.

Le tribus Slaves qui habitent ces hautes régions sont des tribus Slaves d'Ostrogots qui sous le Roi Sverlade et son fils Ostrevoy ou Ostroyl à l'époque des Empereurs Romains Anastase et Justin en 495 se sont emparés de ce pays. Tous sont de la religion orthodoxe grecque et sont dévoués à leur culte presque jusqu'au fanatisme, mais le clergé a considérablement perdu de sa première influence.

Les montagnes indépendantes de la Porte sont tout à fait libres et indépendantes. Depuis 1389, ils sont continuellement en guerre avec les Turcs, et jusqu'à présent ils ne se sont jamais pacifiés avec eux, ni reconnu aucuns de leurs droits. Les grands seigneurs Turcs eux-mêmes n'ont jamais été reconnus par eux comme les souverains légitimes de l'Empire Slave, mais comme des corsaires et des bourreaux qui, à la tête d'une masse de vagabondes et de malfaiteurs sans patrie et sans nationalité, profitant de la discorde qui existait entre les Chrétiens, se sont emparés de leur pays de la manière la plus vile et la plus honteuse. Au surplus, l'histoire fait connaître l'infâme et atroce conduite de tous les Sultans Turcs envers les chrétiens. La ferme et énergique résolution de toutes les tribus indépendantes est de plutôt mourir libres que de soumettre au joug d'aucune puissance.

Les montagnes indépendantes de la Porte sont aussi divisées en deux parties: 1: Les 24 tribus de Monténegrins fortes de 70,000 âmes et où le Vladica de Monténégro est souverain absolu, forment le vrai Monténégro; 2: Les Berda (Holmia) composées de sept grandes tribus indépendantes l'une de l'autre, et où chaque chef de tribu est aussi maître absolu de son pays. Les Berda sont aussi nommés Sept Montagnes et sont fortes de 42,000 âmes. Les Uskoky (peuple qui est dans une espèce de fédération avec les montagnes) sont forts de 22,800 âmes, ce qui avec le Monténégro et les Sept Montagnes forme un total de 134,800 âmes, pouvant en vingt-quatre heures se rassembler et sortir hors du pays. Mais cependant dans un cas d'urgente nécessité, dans une attaque générale contre leur patrie, ce nombre peut être doublé.

Les montagnes dépendantes de la Turquie sont des tribus d'Herzégovine fortes de 32,800 âmes, les cinq tribus de l'ancienne Serbie fortes des 28,800 âmes, les sept tribus des Ducagins fortes de 48,000 âmes, les tribus de Mirdites de 20,000 âmes, les tribus de Dibre de 24,000 âmes, celles de Liour de 4,000 âmes, les tribus de Zadrima de 8,000 âmes, ce qui fait un total de 184,400 âmes, dont 46,300 hommes prêts à combattre.

Les tribus de Monténégro ne sont pas originaires de ce pays. Elles sont composées de différentes familles Slaves-Ostrogots, Bosniaques et surtout des habitants d'Herzégovine. L'époque de leur origine date de 1500.

Les tribus les plus renommées des Monténégrins sont celles de Catuska-Nahia, desquelles descend le même Vladica de Monténégro et qui n'ont jamais été subjugués ni par les Turcs ni par les Vénitiens. En 1711, Pierre le Grand, czar russe, leur envoya des diplômes et lettres patentes avec beaucoup de promesses qu'il n'eut jamais la pensée de tenir, pour les engager à prendre les armes contre les Turcs. C'est de cette époque que commencent les relations russes avec ces tribus.

La Russie pour avoir une place d'armes sur la Mer Adriatique ainsi que pour favoriser ses vues politiques pour ainsi dire au coeur de l'Europe civilisée, a assigné pour divers prétextes au Vladica de Monténégro une pension de 85,000 fr. par année, mais dont le véritable but est de l'amener à attacher tous les chefs des tribus belligérantes au parti de la Russie.

Les tribus des montagnes indépendantes sont originaires de ce pays. C'est l'ancienne Holmia et Podgorée. Leur origine remonte à 495, mais la division en tribus a commencé en 1160, lorsque le dernier roi slave des Ostrogots en Dalmatie, Radoslav 45e, persécuté par un de ses généraux nommé Dessa qu'il avait comblé de ses faveurs et de sa générosité en le faisant Prince de Rascia, fut obligé avec ses quatre fils Wasso, Crasso, Hoto et Pipo et tous ses germains de se retrancher dans ses montagnes qui sont devenues depuis par ses quatre fils, quatre grandes tribus: Wassoevitchy, Crasnichy (Ducagins), Hotty et Pipery, et jusqu'aujourd'hui elles ont conservé leur liberté et leur indépendance. Dans un cas de danger général, c'est-à-dire dans une guerre contre les Turcs, elles sont en fédération avec les Monténégrins.

La lutte qui a commencé en 1476 et qui dure encore aujourd'hui, le massacre et le meurtre journaliers avec les Turcs ainsi que le ravage et la désolation, sont la cause de la pauvreté des montagnes et du Monténégro. Cette terrible lutte les a privées de toute espèce de communication avec le monde et pour ainsi dire avec les hommes. Aucune civilisation, aucun commerce, aucune industrie n'existent chez eux. De tous côtés bloqués et entourés par les barbares, imprégnés de sang humain depuis tant de siècles, ils sont devenus eux-mêmes barbares, en sorte que la vie d'un homme leur est moins chère que la vie d'une chèvre! Voilà l'horrible existence de toutes les tribus indépendantes et dépendantes de la Porte dans la Haute Albanie!

Il existe deux familles princières de la dynastie ancienne des tribus indépendantes. Dans les tribus de Crasnichy (Ducagins) est la famille princière du sang Aly-tzor qui a été contrainte d'embrasser le Mahométanisme, mais qui d'un moment à l'autre reviendra à la religion chrétienne, son premier culte.

Dans les tribus des Wassoevitchs est la famille princière du sang de Miloschevitch, fils aîné du Prince Radoslaw (Rayo) qui est à la quatrième génération le descendant du grand Voyevoda, Prince Etienne (Stevo) Wassoevitchs. Ce prince fut tué en1389 dans la désastreuse bataille de Kosovo Polée. Etienne est à la cinquième génération le descendant du prince du sang Woyslav (Wasso), fils aîné du Roi Radoslav 45e. Ainsi aujourd'hui la famille princière ancienne dans les tribus des Wassoevitchs consiste dans 3 fils et une fille qui sont: Svietoslav, Branislav, Altoman et Elisabeth. Ces trois princes sont nés du Prince Nicolay et de la Princesse Nastasy. A la 4e génération sont les descendants du Prince Georges (Djiuro) renommé dans les chansons slaves. A la sixième génération sont les descendants du Prince Milosch, fils aîné du Prince Radoslav (Rayo ou Radogna). A la 11e génération sont les descendants du susdit grand Voyevoda di Sientza, Prince Etienne (Stevo) Wassoevitchs. A la quinzième génération sont les descendants du Prince Wogislav (Wasso), fils aîné du Roi Radoslaw 45e.

Outre la famille princière dans les tribus des Wassoevitchs, il y a deux Voyevoda héréditaires: un dans le Wassoevitchs supérieur et l'autre dans le Wassoevitchs inférieur.
Les deux autres tribus ci-dessus désignées, Hotty et Pipery, sont gouvernées par des Voyevoda également héréditaires.

Dans les montagnes dépendantes, la tribu la plus renommée est celle Mirdity. Cette tribu est le plus ancien peuple de ce pays. Ils ont pour chef le prince de la maison Doda, laquelle aujourd'hui consiste dans deux princes, Doda et Marc.

Le peuple slave-serbien qui habite la Mesia supérieure (aujourd'hui la Serbie) n'a jamais eu aucune tribu et tous les princes, joupans, rois et empereurs ont été originaires ou de la Zaholnica ou de la Holmia de la race des Slaves-Ostragots.

La famille autrefois régnante en Serbie était celle de Nemagna, fils d'un prêtre du village de Liubomir de la Zaholnica (aujourd'hui Herzégovine). De l'ancienne dynastie serbienne et même de l'ancienne noblesse serbienne, il ne reste plus aujourd'hui aucuns descendants. Le Milosch, ex-gouverneur de la Serbie, fut le premier noble parmi les Serbiens auquel les Turcs aient accordé le titre de Begh, qualité princière, mais le vrai prince en langue turque s'appelle Begh-Zaadé. Du reste, en Serbie il n'existe aucune noblesse proprement dite serbienne.

Abrégé de la statistique militaire
des tribus de la Haute Albanie

Montagnes indépendantes

1. Le Monténégro qui comprend tribus est gouverné par le Vladica de Monténégro, chef absolu

Population

60000

 

Combattants

15000

 

Berda, Montagnes
2. Tribu Bielopavlitchy
3. Tribu de Pipéri
4. Rovtza
5. Les deux Moratchat
6. Les Wassoevitchs supérieurs
7. Les Bratonoxitchy
8. Les Coutchy
Dans les montagnes chaque chef est maître absolu de sa tribu

 

8000
8000
1600
1600
1600
6000
8000

 

2000
2000
400
400
400
1200
2000

Les Ouskoki
1. Drobgnatzy
2. Nikchitchka
3. Le Vassoevitchs supérieurs
4. Les Vassoevitchs bas

 

6000
2000
12000
2000

 

1200
500
3000
500

Le total des montagnes indépendantes est composé de tribus qui depuis 1839 n'ont jamais été conquis par les Turcs

1144000
33100

Les Montagnes dépendantes
de la Porte par rapport aux pâturages et aux marchés mais qui ne payent aucun impôt sont les tribus des montagnes du Scuttary (Scodra)

   
savoir
1. Les Climenty
2. Hoty
3. Gronda
4. Castrati
5. Chkryely
6. Chaglia
7. Chocha
8. Poutali
    Rougovo
    Krasnychk
    Berich
    Gasch
    Thatch
    Sath
9. Mirdity
10. Liour
11. Zadrima
 
2000
2400
1200
2400
2800
4000
1600
2400
4000
4000
16000
4000
2800
2000
20000
4000
8000
 
500
600
300
600
700
1000
400
600
1000
1000
4000
1000
700
500
5000
1000
2000
Le Total des tribus albanaises dans les montagnes de Scuttari reconnaissent en quelque sorte le pouvoir turc à cause des pâturages et des marchés mais ils ne payent aucun impôt.
Ce sont des catholiques armés.
Les tribus qui payent un impôt à la Turquie vivent dans les plaines et sont aussi armées.
Ce sont celle de Scuttari.
Les tribus dans la plaine de Herzégovine
      Infanterie
      Cavalerie
Les 5 tribus de l'ancienne Serbie
      Infanterie
      Cavalerie
83000





160000



20000
12800

20000
8800
20900





40000



5000
3200

5000
2200
Total des tribus chrétiennes dans les plaines
221600
55400

Recapitulation

Tribus indépendantes et gouvernées par elles-mêmes
Tribus dépendantes de la Porte sous le rapport des pâturages et des marchés, mais qui ne payent aucun impôt
Tribus des plaines qui payent l'impôt à la Porte

 

114400

83600


221600

 

33100

20900


55400
Total général
437600
109400

 

[Manuscrit découvert aux Archives de la Communauté Lazariste, Paris. Publié aussi dans le Bulletin de la Société Géographique de Paris, Paris, 1841.]

TOP

Montagnard de Shala (Photo: Marubbi, ca. 1858-1890).

Robert Elsie | AL Art | AL History | AL Language | AL Literature | AL Photography | Contact |

 

Robert Elsie

Texts and Documents of Albanian History

   
BACK  |  AL History
"The Highlanders of High Albania." Postcard.


"The Highlanders of High Albania."
Postcard.
Webdesign J. Groß

1841
Nicolay, Prince of the Vasoyevich:
Brief Information on the Tribes of
High Albania, in particular on the Independent Mountain
s

Nicolay, Prince of the Vasoyevich, or Prince des Wassoevitch as he calls himself in French, was the author of some French-language essays and letters on the mountainous region along the present border between Albania and Montenegro. He was active during the reign of Prince Petar II Petrovic Njegos (r. 1830-1851) of Montenegro, and seems to have first-hand knowledge about the highland tribes of Albania and Montenegro at the time. Little else is known of him.

Ancient Holmia (Mountains) is situated between the Adriatic Sea, the Bay of Kotor, Bulgaria and Old Serbia, between Herzegovina, Lake Ohrid, Elbasan and Durrës. It now forms the entirety of High Albania, part of Herzegovina, Bosnia and Old Serbia.

It is about 51.3 leagues long and about 30.8 leagues wide, which makes about 1,580 square leagues. It has a population of about 320,000 souls, of whom 74,000 fighters and 5,400 cavalry.

The country is covered in mountains and steep cliffs, gorges and regions that are so inaccessible that from ancient times up to the present, no armed force has been able to penetrate them.

I do not wish to go into topographical details about the country because it is too vast a subject and would require much more careful and special treatment. I would just like to note that it is very difficult, if not impossible, to get an accurate idea of the nature of this country and of the frightening aspect of its mountains. Every step one takes, one encounters a fort, every stone is a defensive wall that nature created to stop men from advancing. In short, High Albania is a perfect natural fortress that no power has ever been able to conquer or subdue.

History tells us that the Romans, and even the Turks, were masters of this country. This is true, but in the sense of stipulations that fulfilled the needs of these tribes, and not by force of arms.

Ancient Holmia derives its name from a lofty mountain called Holm, situated in the tribal land of the Vasoyevich against the Turks of Kolashin.

Holmia is now divided into two parts. The first are the independent mountains comprising Montenegro and Brda (ancient Holmia). The second are the mountains dependent upon the Porte for their pastureland and markets, but who pay nothing to the Turks and govern themselves.

The people who now inhabit this country are of two different races: Albanian tribes and Slav tribes. The Albanian tribes or Skyptars are the descendents of Illir, son of Cadmus, King of the Phoenicians, who left his country on the arrival of the Israelites, travelled with this son and his people to settle on the banks of the Adriatic Sea, from Greece to Lake Shkodra, a position that they have held up to the present, without having altered their costumes and customs. Their language has also remained to the present day just as it was thirty-three centuries ago. This language bears no resemblance to languages to the north of it, except for technical terms and titles taken from their masters.

All the Albanians are Roman Catholic, but out of a dislike they have for the pope and the Latin language, they hold the clergy in low esteem and are little devoted to their religion.

The Slavic tribes inhabiting these high reaches are Ostrogoth Slavs who took over the country under King Sverlade and his son Ostrovoy or Ostroyl at the time of the Roman emperors Anastasius and Justin in 495. They are all of Greek Orthodox religion and are devoted to their faith to an almost fanatic extent, but the clergy has lost much of its original influence.

The mountains independent of the Porte are completely free and independent. Since 1389, they have been in continuous warfare with the Turks and have never made peace with them up to the present day, nor recognized any of their laws. The great Turkish rulers have never been recognized by them as legitimate sovereigns of the Slav Empire, but only as pirates and henchmen who have taken over their country in the most vile and shameful manner, at the head of a mass of homeless vagrants and evildoers without a nationality, profiting from the discord that reigned among the Christians. What is more, history has acknowledged the infamous and atrocious conduct of all the Turkish sultans against the Christians. The independent tribes are firmly and energetically resolved to die rather than to submit to the yoke of any outside power.

The mountains independent of the Porte are also divided into two parts: 1) the 24 tribes of Montenegro, consisting 70,000 souls and where the Vladika of Montenegro is the absolute ruler, constitute real Montenegro; 2) the Brda (Holmia) composed of seven large tribes independent of one another where each tribal chief is absolute master of his people. The Brda are also called the Seven Mountains and consist of 42,000 souls. The Uskoci (a people living in a sort of federation with the mountains) consist of 22,800 souls, and with Montenegro and the Seven Mountains form a total of 134,800 souls who are able to muster forces and move within twenty-four hours. However, should needs be, if there is a general attack on their country, this number can be doubled.

The mountains dependent on Turkey are the tribes of Herzegovina, consisting of 32,800 souls, the five tribes of old Serbia consisting of 28,800 souls, the seven tribes of Dukagjin consisting of 48,000 souls, the tribes of Mirdita with 20,000 souls, the tribes of Dibra with 24,000 souls, those of Lura with 4,000 souls, and the tribes of Zadrima with 8,000 souls, which make up a total of 184,400 souls, of whom 46,300 men-in-arms.

The tribes of Montenegro are not native to this country. They are made up of various families of Ostrogoth Slavs, Bosnians and, most of all, inhabitants of Herzegovina. They date from 1500.

The most famous Montenegrin tribes are those of Catuska-Nahia, from whom the Vladika of Montenegro descends and who were never subjugated by the Turks or the Venetians. In 1711, the Russian czar, Peter the Great, sent them treaties and patent letters with many promises he never intended to keep, to get them to take up arms against the Turks. This marks the beginning of Russian relations with these tribes.

In order to acquire a bastion on the Adriatic Sea and to promote its political objectives in the heart of civilised Europe, so to speak, Russia, giving various pretexts, bestowed upon the Vladika of Montenegro a pension of 85,000 francs a year, but the real objective of this was to attach all the chiefs of the warring tribes to the Russian side.
The tribes of the independent mountains are native to the country. This is ancient Holmia and Podgora. They go back to the year 495, but their separation into tribes began in 1160 when the last Slav king of the Ostrogoths in Dalmatia, Radoslav the 45th, persecuted by one of his generals called Dessa to whom he had shown great favour and generosity by making him Prince of Rascia, was obliged to withdraw into the mountains with his four sons, Vaso, Kraso, Hoto and Pipo, and all his relatives. The descendents of these four sons created the four great tribes: Vasoyevichi, Krasniqi (Dukagjin), Hoti and Piperi, and they have preserved their freedom and independence there to the present day. In case of general peril, i.e. in a war against the Turks, they join forces with the Montenegrins.

The war that began in 1476 and has lasted ever since, the day-to-day killings and massacres with the Turks, with ravage and desolation, are the cause of the poverty of the mountains and of Montenegro. This terrible struggle has deprived them of all communication with the outside world, to all effect with mankind. They have no culture, no trade and no industry. Hemmed in on all sides and surrounded by barbarians, blood-stained for centuries, they have themselves become barbarians in the sense that the life of one man is less valuable than the life of a goat! Such is the terrible life of all the independent tribes and of those dependent on the Porte in High Albania!

There are two princely families that stem from the ancient dynasty of the independent tribes. In the Krasniqi (Dukagjin) tribes is the princely family of Aly-tzor blood that was compelled to convert to Islam, but that will return to its original, Christian religion when the right time comes.

In the Vasoyevich tribes, it is the princely family of the lineage of Miloshevich, the eldest son of Prince Radoslav (Rayo) who is a fourth-generation descendant of the grand Voyvod, Prince Stephen (Stevo) Vasoyevich. This prince was killed in 1389 at the disastrous Battle of Kosovo Polje. Stephan is the fifth-generation descendant of Prince Voyslav (Vaso), eldest son of King Radoslav 45th. Thus today, the ancient princely family among the Vasoyevich tribes consists of three sons and one daughter who are: Svietoslav, Branislav, Altoman and Elisabeth. The three princes are the sons of Prince Nicolay and Princess Nastasy. In the fourth generation are the descendants of Prince George (Djuro), renowned in Slavic folksongs. In the sixth generation are the descendants of Prince Milosh, the eldest son of Prince Radoslav (Rayo or Radogna). In the eleventh generation are the descendants of the above-mentioned grand Voyvod of Sientza, Prince Stephen (Stevo) Vasoyevich. In the fifteenth generation are the descendants of Prince Vogislav (Vaso), eldest son of King Radoslav 45th.

Aside from the princely family in the Vasoyevich tribes, there are two hereditary voyvods: one for the upper Vasoyevich and one for the lower Vasoyevich.

The two other above-mentioned tribes, the Hoti and the Piperi, are also governed by hereditary voyvods.

The best known tribe in the independent mountains are the Mirdites. This tribe is the oldest in the country. Their chief is the prince of the Doda family, represented today by two princes, Doda and Mark.

The Slavic Serb people that inhabit upper Moesia (now called Serbia) never had any tribe, and all the princes, zhupans, kings and emperors originated either from Zaholnica or from Holmia, from the stem of the Ostrogoth Slavs.

The reigning family in Serbia were the Nemanja, sons of a priest from the village of Ljubomir in Zaholnica (now called Herzegovina). There are no more descendants of the old Serb dynasty or of old Serb nobility. Milosh, the former governor of Serbia, was the first noble of the Serbs to be accorded the princely title of Begh (bey) by the Turks, but a real prince in Turkish is called Begh-Zade. Aside from them, there is no real Serb nobility in Serbia.

Overview of the Military Statistics
of the Tribes of High Albania

Independent Mountains

1. Tribal Montenegro is governed by the Vladika of Montenegro, absolute ruler.

Population

60,000

Fighters

15,000

Brda, Mountains
2. Bjelopavlichi tribe
3. Piperi tribe
4. Rovtza
5. The two Morachas
6. Upper Vasoyevich
7. Bratonoshitchi
8. Kuchi

In the mountains, each chief is absolute ruler of his tribe.

 

8,000
8,000
1,600
1,600
1,600
6,000
8,000

 

2,000
2,000
400
400
400
1,200
2,000

The Uskoci
1. Drobnjaci
2. Nikshichka
3. Upper Vasoyevich
4. Lower Vasoyevich

 

6,000
2,000
12,000
2,000

 

1,200
500
3,000
500

The total for the independent mountains is composed of tribes that since 1839 have never been conquered by the Turks.

114,4000

33,100

The mountains dependent on the Porte for pastureland and markets but who pay no taxes are the mountain tribes of Shkodra,

   

these being:
1. Kelmendi
2. Hoti
3. Gruda
4. Kastrati
5. Shkreli
6. Shala
7. Shoshi
8. Poutali
    Rugovo
    Krasniqi
    Berisha
    Gashi
    Thaçi
    Sath
9. Mirdita
10. Lura
11. Zadrima

 

2,000
2,400
1,200
2,400
2,800
4,000
1,600
2,400
4,000
4,000
16,000
4,000
2,800
2,000
20,000
4,000
8,000

 

500
600
300
600
700
1,000
400
600
1,000
1,000
4,000
1,000
700
500
5,000
1,000
2,000

The total of the Albanian tribes in the mountains of Shkodra recognising Turkish rule in some manner for pastureland and markets, but who payno taxes.
These are the armed Catholics.
The tribes who pay taxes to the Turks and live on the plains and form armies.
These are those of Shkodra.
The tribes of the plains of Herzegovina
      Infantry
      Cavalry
The five tribes of old Serbia
      Infantry
      Cavalry

83,000




160,000



20,000
12,800

20,000
8,800

20,900




40,000



5,000
3,200

5,000
2,200

Total of Christian tribes on the plains

221,600

55,400

Recapitulation

Independent and self-governing tribes.
Tribes dependent on the Porte for pastureland and markets, but paying no taxes.
Tribes of the plains paying taxes to the Porte

 

114,400
83,600


221,600

 

33,100
20,900


55,400

Total

437,600

109,400

 

[Manuscript discovered in the Archives of the Lazarist Community in Paris. Published in Bulletin de la Société Géographique de Paris, Paris 1841. Translated from the French by Robert Elsie.]

TOP

"The Highlanders of High Albania." Postcard.